Archive | 11:22 am

Getting Into Shape

2 Aug

Good morning!

We were up and out the door at 6am today for practice. Friday = recovery run = YESS!!!! My legs were tired today so it was nice to take it easy on today’s run. We ended practice with stretches, 7.5 minutes of abs, and 70 pushups.

Post-run breakfast was a banana on the car ride home to tame my grumbling tummy, and when I got home I made some coffee, half a piece of toast with butter, and an unnapeaaling-looking glob of yogurt with flaxseed, Pinto cherries, and applesauce mixed in.

Image

I enjoyed my breakfast while reading my devotional. Reading each day’s message has become a morning routine that I’ve really come to cherish. It’s a wonderful way to start the day off in a positive mindset.

Image

Back to running…

Since my husband, Travis, and I began coaching, we’ve been running regularly for the first time in years. We were both athletes in college and we have been running ever since, but our workout regimen was sporadic at best. We’d go weeks without running at all, which left us feeling sluggish and, well, “squishy.”

We’re wrapping up our 5th week of summer training, and we have been averaging about 30-32 miles per week. Over the past two weeks, we’ve begun incorporating tempo runs into weekly practices. For those unfamiliar with running, a tempo run is (without getting too technical here) a steady state of running at threshold pace. That is, a pace that’s about 25-30 seconds per mile slower than your 5k race pace. Typically, you want to aim for a 20 minute tempo, but currently we’re working in miles, not minutes. We hold our tempo pace for 2 miles and we will continue to work up from there.

I don’t want to bore you with running lingo. The reason I’m sharing this is to say that, for the first time since college, I feel like I’m actually getting back into not only running shape, but racing shape. I have wanted to get back to racing for some time now, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it if I wasn’t able to give it an honest effort that I wouldn’t be embarrassed by.

I really love running with our athletes. I forgot how fun it is to run with a team, and I like coaching because I have the opportunity to be a role model and an inspiration to these young runners in the same way that all my past coaches were to me.

I think with a few more weeks of dedicated training and coaching, I’ll be back in my racing shoes and ready to roll!

When was the last time you were in really great shape? (Or maybe you are now?) What do you do (or what would you like to do) to stay fit and feeling great? Leave a comment below!

–Lou

