Veggie Preparation

30 Jul

I’ve had a pretty productive day so far! I got up and did a few chores around the house, and then I began prepping all of our veggies for the week. I also got a head start on dinner for tonight!

20130730-143607.jpg

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. When you’re aiming to get more veggies into your diet, advanced preparation is your best friend. Travis and I go through more veggies each week than an average family of four, but only because I take the time to clean and chop everything at the beginning of the week. When you have good food on hand, you eat more good food. It’s a pretty simple equation. (P.S. my OXO Salad Spinner is probably one of my top 3 favorite kitchen gadgets.)

Lunch was simple enough, too. A plate of (pre-prepped!) veggies with a big scoop of some hummus that I made yesterday using this recipe, alongside a big salad with grape tomatoes, crumbled feta, yogurt ranch dressing, and one of the quinoa patties that I prepared earlier in the day for tonight’s dinner.

20130730-145315.jpg

20130730-145404.jpg

OBSESSED.

I LOVE Ina Garten’s hummus recipe (but I use about half the garlic). It’s also great slathered on top of those little quinoa patties, which is one of the many wonderful recipes from Heidi Swanson’s cookbook, Supernatural Everyday.  I received her book as a gift, and it’s a truly fantastic compilation of recipes that you would actually cook everyday. You might be familiar with Heidi’s blog, 101 Cookbooks.  It’s where I look to when I need a no-fail vegetarian recipe based upon whole, natural ingredients. She’s also got some to-die-for dessert recipes in the book that have become well-loved favorites in our home.  I’m not being compensated to give my opinions of Heidi’s cookbook, I just really love it.  😉

Do you prepare your veggies for the week? What are some of your favorite vegetables to have on hand?? (I’m always looking for a new veggie to try!) Leave me a comment below!

I’m off for a hilly run!

Have a good one,

Lou

 

 

4 Responses to “Veggie Preparation”

  1. sophiazerg July 30, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    I’ve been reading so many bloggers prep for the week – it has crossed my mind that it sounds like a great idea, yet I’ve never done it. I think it would make my life a lot easier! We eat lots of veggies, but I am busy preparing meals practically every night after work.
    I think I will finally give it a shot over the weekend and see how it goes! Thanks for sharing.
    Sophia 🙂

    • Lou July 30, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      It’s such a HUGE time saver! It does take a little bit of time to get everything all prepped, but once it’s done, it’s done and you can just grab what you need! Thanks for reading!

  2. Brittany @ DulceVie July 31, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    I have considered prepping veggies for the week.. but I always forget! I really should get to that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Ate Wednesday #3 | Zestful Lou - July 31, 2013

    […] came together quickly thanks to all the food I prepped out at the beginning of the […]

Leave a Reply

