What I Ate Wednesday #1

18 Apr

For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, What I Ate Wednesday is a weekly blog post that features all of your eats on any day of the week that you choose, and then it’s blogged about and posted on Wednesday. It began over at Peas and Crayons and has taken the blog world by storm! It’s fun to see what other bloggers are eating throughout an entire day.

Here’s a little blurb from the Peas and Crayons website:

Want to join in on the fun?I’d love to see a day in the life of you!  Meals, snacks, drinks – all that good stuff!  Don’t stress it if you forget to photograph a snack or even forget an entire meal until long after the plate has been licked clean… just post the rest of the goodies!  You can even put a fun spin on your WIAW. Holiday editions, Bday eats, Travel, Road Trips, etc…  Have fun with it! =)  Bonus points for featuring veggies <3Simply photograph a day of meals any day of the week and create your What I Ate Wednesday post to link up on any (and every!) Wednesday you choose.  What I Ate [Last] Wednesday posts are popular and so are Monday and Tuesday eats! ❤  Make sure you add the WIAW button to your post [this will allow your readers to join in on the fun too!] and link up more than just one meal/recipe.  Now get your party pants on and join us every Wednesday for a fun food diary party!

So without further ado, here are my Wednesday eats:

Breakfast #1 (post-4am gym workout)

A sweet egg white omelet (egg whites, stevia, cinnamon, and cream of tartar) topped with a teaspoon of almond butter.

Breakfast #2 (in the car on the way to work):

A SUPER spinach-packed Green Monster with Sunwarrior protein powder, almond milk, ice, and a pinch of xanthan gum.

Morning Pick-Me-Up (because I was falling asleep on my drive to work…ugh):

A coffee with a touch of steamed nonfat milk. I like to drink my coffee black when I have time to sit back, relax, and really enjoy it, but today I wanted to down this bad boy to get that caffeine into me quickly so I added a bit of milk!

Snack #1 (during recess duty on the playground):

Actually, that’s the “after” picture because I couldn’t eat, watch my students, and take a picture of my food. It was half a cup of greek yogurt with cinnamon.

Lunch (finally!!!):

Leftovers! Ground turkey taco meat with some chopped avocado, carrots and celery with a greek yogurt/dijon mustard dipping sauce, kumquats, and a couple pieces of dark chocolate (not pictured!).

Snack #2 (home at last!):

A serving of Trader Joe’s fully cooked edamame sprinkled with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos. Deeelish. I also had a small bowl of Nature’s Path Multibran Flakes with almond milk. I was hungry!!!

Dinner (I look forward to this all day):

I think I’m going to call this “Pizza Salad.” It had one Trader Joe’s Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage link, a couple slices chopped pepperoni, a sprinkle of fat free feta, a couple kalamata olives, sauteed bell peppers, and some Italian dressing. Served with a side of sweet potato fries that Travis and I shared.

Well, there ya go! That’s everything I ate today. I will probably have something for dessert, too. Maybe a big mug of my super rich and thick low calorie hot chocolate!!

What’d you eat today!?

-Lou

5 Responses to “What I Ate Wednesday #1”

  1. Sara @my less serious life April 19, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    whoa. a sweet omelet topped with almond butter? creative. intriguing. i think i might have to try this, especially since i usually crave sweet, not savory, in the mornings. happy wiaw!

    • Lauren April 19, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      Yeah! Sometimes I want eggs, but I also crave sweet over savory in the mornings!

  2. Momma April 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    For breakfast I had a jumbo blueberry muffin, a bowl of Rice Chex with banana, a few strawberries, and 2 cups of coffee. At 10am I had a protein shake with chocolate rice milk and a TBS of olive oil, 11am 2 pieces of Gluten free toast with extra butter, almond butter and strawberry jam and a bottle of water. For lunch my wonderful husband, your father, made me a toasted turkey sandwich with soy free Earth Balance buttery spread, and Miracle Whip, with an extra slice of toast with buttery spread on the side. He garnished the plate with corn chips and apple slices. I washed it all down with a large glass of rice milk. I have been grabbing handfuls of almonds here and there as I sit and do all of my paperwork ( we are out of my usual cashews). Now it is time for a sweet treat and coffee with Dr. Oz. I just started watching this show and I already know how to have more energy in 24hrs. and what foods fight off cancer…good stuff to know…I think I will begin with a big piece of dark chocolate “seafoam” (love that stuff) from Sprouts and maybe another jumbo blueberry muffin, and of course, black coffee. Dinner? Possibly Pizza Hut’s “dinner in a box”…2 med. pizzas, bread sticks, chicken wings, and a nice big healthy salad…(your brother will be here!) Don’t forget my nightly snack of Rice Dream ice cream mixed with gluten free cereal and topped with hard chocolate shell…and a decaf!! Tata for now!! xoxoxoxo

    • Lauren April 20, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      Wow! That’s more food than I have in my pantry! Good job Momma!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Ate Wednesday #2 « Zestful Lou - April 25, 2012

    […] enjoyed a slice of toast with strawberry jam and a sweet egg white omelet, much like the one I made last week. Sorry, no picture. I was still in a sleepy […]

Leave a Reply

