Pancake Oatmeal

18 Feb

You’re probably thinking, “Wait, doesn’t Lou mean Oatmeal Pancakes?”

No, I don’t.

Because this recipe originally set out to be pancakes, but it’s fate was destined for a bowl and spoon. So today, Pancake Oatmeal was born.

steamy

After the first flip of the pancake that I attempted to make from this batter, I knew that pancakes were not in my near future. Travis took one look at my sad pancake lump and said, “Oh, Hmmmm….wow.” Done and done.

Enter: oatmeal.

It’s not what I was craving today, but it took me by surprise and I gobbled it right up between sips of coffee from my most favorite, beautiful, flowery, girly “L” mug.

20120218-083657.jpg Pancake Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats (I use gluten free)
  • 1/3 cup plus 3 Tbsp. egg whites
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. ground chia seeds/chia flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in your blender and blend until mostly smooth, 10-30 seconds.
  2. Pour “batter” into a small sauce pan and cook over low heat until thickened, stirring frequently.
  3. Serve topped with chopped walnuts and a drizzle of peanut butter or maple syrup.  Serves 1

 This oatmeal is high in protein, gluten-free, and sugar-free,  yet still naturally sweet from the applesauce!

Nutrition Facts*(not including toppings): 272 calories, 3.3g fat, 1mg cholesterol, 40g carbs, 7g fiber, 11g sugar, 18g protein

*nutrition facts are an estimate based on the ingredients I used.

Remember that any sugars in this recipe are 100% natural, unrefined, and good for you!

Wanting to stick with the sugar-free theme, I opted for a teaspoon of warmed peanut butter drizzled over the top and a few crunchy walnuts for texture.

This made a large serving that I’m certain will keep me full for at least 4 hours. I’ve got to keep my strength up for my friend Gina’s bachelorette party tonight!

It’s going to get rowdy. And no, I probably won’t post any pictures.  😉

It’s another 3-day weekend!!! Hooooorrrraaayyyyyy!!!!

-Lou

 

 

2 Responses to “Pancake Oatmeal”

  1. Emily @LivingLongfellow February 28, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    pretty mug! I was reading about your about me, and we both have similar jobs. I too work with elementary students with autism.

    • Lauren March 6, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

      Awesome!! What age do you work with??

Leave a Reply

