Super Rich and Thick Low Calorie Hot Chocolate

15 Feb

This is just a quick post to share this rich and thick hot chocolate recipe. You’re welcome.

20120215-174252.jpg

Super Rich and Thick Low Calorie Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp. chia flour (I just grind my chia seeds in my Vitamix)
  • 2 Tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 2 packets stevia
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
Directions:
  1. Add chia flour, cocoa powder, and stevia to blender.
  2. In a small saucepan over low heat, bring almond milk and vanilla extract to a simmer.
  3. Pour hot almond milk mixture into blender over cocoa mixture.
  4. Blend until smooth, about 30 seconds. Pour into your favorite mug and top with whipped cream if desired.

20120215-174313.jpg

I drank mine from my favorite Charlie Brown Christmas mug. Travis has an equally cute one. We scored them at Big Lots for just $2 each around Christmas time.

The chia flour makes this cocoa really thick, and giving everything a whir through the  blender ensures that it’s smooth. The blender also whips it up a bit so you get more for your money! Always a plus.

When made with chia flour, this big mug of hot chocolate comes out to a mere 125 calories. If you opt to leave it out you will bring the calories down to only 80 calories per mug, but it won’t  be as rich and thick. Sure beats the nearly 300 calories and 13g of fat that you get in an equally sized Starbucks hot cocoa. Plus mine is vegan. And it didn’t cost me $4.

I topped mine with a big spoonful of TruWhip, so that added another 30 calories or so…but I’ve been home sick all day and once again I’ve found myself soupless.

              soupless [soop-les] adjective: Without any soup whatsoever. Sad. Hungry.

Look it up.

So once again I’m surviving on toast and lacking nutrients. Hence the dallop of whipped cream on my hot chocolate. You know, since whipped cream is nutrient dense. 😉

Back to the couch I go with my blankie and Friends reruns on TV!

Send good thoughts my way so that I may get over this nasty cold very very soon.

-Lou

One Response to “Super Rich and Thick Low Calorie Hot Chocolate”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Ate Wednesday #1 « Zestful Lou - April 18, 2012

    […] Well, there ya go! That’s everything I ate today. I will probably have something for dessert, too. Maybe a big mug of my super rich and thick low calorie hot chocolate!! […]

Leave a Reply

