Vegan and Gluten Free Thin Mints

13 Feb

My brother’s fiance bought me this cookbook for Christmas:

(Thanks Ali!)

20120213-165516.jpg

I literally squealed with delight when I unwrapped it. Yes, I’m well aware that I do not follow a gluten-free lifestyle, nor do I claim to be a vegan, or even a vegetarian, but I do base most of my cooking and baking ventures on the aforementioned practices.

Let me just say that I now fully understand why gluten free products are so dang expensive. It’s because the ingredients to make these products are, you guessed it, so dang expensive. I spent a solid 2 hours and $45 searching for and purchasing the things I would need to bake most of the recipes from Babycakes Covers the Classics, but the results I achieved on my first gluten free baked good were ohhhh so worth it.

I’ve now made a number of things from Erin McKenna’s recipes and I have not been disspointed yet. In fact, I will gladly swap out my favorite butter and egg-laden oatmeal cookie recipe for Erin’s vegan and gluten free fancies from here on out. They are that good. Gluten free/vegan or not, the cookies and donuts from these recipes are some of the best things to ever leave my oven. No joke.

Without further ado, I give you a Gluten Free and Vegan version of the ever-popular Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie. I dare you to tell me they don’t taste exactly like a Thin Mint.

Vegan and Gluten Free Thin Mints

-adapted (only slightly) from Babycakes Covers the Classics

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Baking Flour
  • 1 cup vegan sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot
  • 1 1/2 tsp. xantham gum
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint flavor

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk flour, sugar, sifted cocoa powder, arrowroot, xantham gum, baking soda, and salt. Add the canola oil, applesauce, and vanilla extract and mix with a rubber spatula until a thick dough forms.
  3. Pat the dough into a disc and refrigerate 1 hour until firm. Roll out half the dough until 1/8″ thick. Using a 1 1/2″ round cookie cutter or biscuit cutter, cut rounds from dough. Continue until all the dough used. Roll the other half and repeat process.
  4. Transfer rounds to the parchment lines baking sheets. Bake for 7 minutes, rotate the baking sheets, and bake for 7 minutes more. Let cookies stand on baking sheets for 15 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, combine the chocolate chips and mint flavor in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir until chips are melted, being careful not to overcook. Remove from heat.
  6. Using a small knife or offset spatula, spread the mint chocolate over the tops of the cookies. Arrange cookies in a single layer on a platter and freeze 10 minutes until chocolate sets.

I preferred to roll and cut the cookies rather than drop them onto the baking sheet because it gave a more uniform appearance.

 What on earth will I do with ALL these cookies. Hmmm…

For that classic Girl Scout Thin Mint experience, store these in an airtight container and enjoy them straight from the freezer. If you’re really sweet, you’ll share them with your Valentine. ♥

I packed a few in Travis’s lunch today. I also just blew my secret that they were vegan and gluten free. Did I trick you, honey?

I’m going to make a big batch of these for my sister and mom who’ve recently decided to follow a gluten-free and dairy-free lifestyle after experiencing some health issues.

Good news, Mom and Sarah! Now you can have GIRL SCOUT COOKIES!

Lou to the rescue.

Give yourself a Valentine’s gift and buy this book for yourself. I promise you will adore it just as much as I have.

-Lou

4 Responses to “Vegan and Gluten Free Thin Mints”

  1. croldan76 February 14, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Just shared this with all of the Dinner This Month subscribers! Thanks Lou!!!

    • Lauren February 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

      Love it! Thank you for reading!

  2. Tiffany Daumueller April 16, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    These sound awesome. I just discovered your blog via Chocolate Covered Katie. I’ll have to start trying some of my freeze dried food in some of these recipes. Thanks for the great post!

    • Lauren April 16, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks for reading Tiffany! These thin mints got the nod of approval from all my coworkers, and no one even knew they were vegan or GF! I hope you get a chance to try them!

Leave a Reply

