Chocolate Protein Pudding

2 Feb

I have been craving chocolate like you wouldn’t believe. After browsing the internet for recipes that are Whole Living Action Plan acceptable, I decided to come up with my own.

Now I know that caffeine is a no-no during the Whole Living challenge, but just a little from the chocolate won’t hurt, right?

Ok, good. I’m glad we’re on the same page.

This pudding is vegan, gluten-free, and sugar-free! Enjoy!

Chocolate Protein Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. firm tofu
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 Tbsp. sugar free vanilla syrup (I used Torani brand) OR 4 Tbsp. agave nectar
  • 3 Tbsp. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Serve right away, or if you can wait (I couldn’t) chill for 30 minutes.  Makes 2 large or 4 small servings.

This pudding calmed my sweet tooth without the guilt. I contemplated just giving up and making a batch of brownies, but I’m happy I didn’t because now I have a recipe to turn to when I need a quick, healthy chocolate fix.

Just before diving in to the pudding, I topped it with a few dry roasted peanuts for crunch and a peanut buttery chocolate flavor.

It’s almost dinner time and I have another pound of tofu in the fridge that’s fast approaching it’s expiration date. Looks like I’m doubling up on the soy tonight!

Question: “What’s your favorite way to use tofu?” I’m always looking for non-Asian inspired tofu recipes. I got kinda burnt out on tofu stir-frys during college…

-Lou

2 Responses to “Chocolate Protein Pudding”

  1. megpinkgiggles February 4, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    I always get so nervous when I see recipes using tofu in a dessert. but this one I definitely have to try 🙂

    • Zestful Lou February 4, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

      Its not like a traditional chocolate pudding, but I did enjoy it for dessert and then for breakfast the next morning!

Leave a Reply

