Headache and Hunger

23 Jan

The title of this post sums up how I’m feeling right now. Actually, I have more of the headache and Travis is the hungrier one.

I have to assume it’s the “no caffeine” rule that has caused this throbbing, non-stop headache that I’ve had since 10:30 this morning. The small meal portions don’t bother me much. I don’t typically have time to eat a lot while I’m teaching anyway. Travis is starving though…and craving everything in sight so it’s a good thing the only thing we have in our house is fruits and vegetables. 🙂

The meals we’ve been preparing are really good, just very small. Very, very small.

These fruit and nut bites have pulled us through:

  [photo source]

Dried Fruit and Nut Bites

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup prunes
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sesame seeds (optional)

Direcections:

  1. In a food processor, process nuts and seeds until ground. Remove to a mixing bowl.
  2. Process prunes and raisins until a paste forms. Add to ground nut mixture, sprinkle in cinnamon, and knead mixture with fingers until combined. Form into 20 balls. Roll in sesame seeds, if desired.

These were great when I was craving something sweet and they gave me a little burst of energy when I was dragging.

Travis and I have already thought of giving up. But we will persevere. It’s only been one day, after all.

In Travis’s words: One day at a time. We’re not giving up yet.

Here’s to hoping my headache goes away soon.

-Lou

Leave a Reply

