Motivation

20 Aug

I’ve been Unzestful Lou lately. Is that a word? It is now.

There’s so much to be done before school starts and I’m up to my neck in paperwork, lesson plans, sticky smiles, and finger paint. I’m both very excited and very nervous for my very first day as a special education teacher. I keep having dreams where everything goes wrong, so I look for inspiration and motivation anywhere I can find it. Do you have some for me because I’d gladly take it?

As I lay in bed at night, I read Good Poems by Garrison Keillor to help calm the whirlwind of thoughts that robs me of sleep in the middle of the night. Occasionally, I’ll look up inspirational poems online in the middle of the day when I need a boost.

Here’s one I’ve enjoyed reading lately.

“It Couldn’t be Done ”

–By Edgar Guest

Somebody said that it couldn’t be done,
But, he with a chuckle replied
That “maybe it couldn’t” but he would be one
Who wouldn’t say so till he’d tried.

So he buckled right in with the trace of a grin
On his face. If he worried he hid it.
He started to sing as he tackled the thing
That couldn’t be done, as he did it.

Somebody scoffed: “Oh, you’ll never do that;
At least no one we know has done it”;
But he took off his coat and he took off his hat,
And the first thing we knew he’d begun it.

With a lift of his chin and a bit of a grin,
Without any doubting or quiddit,
He started to sing as he tackled the thing
That couldn’t be done, and he did it.

There are thousands to tell you it cannot be done,
There are thousands to prophesy failure;
There are thousands to point out to you, one by one,
The dangers that wait to assail you.

But just buckle right in with a bit of a grin,
Just take off your coat and go to it;
Just start to sing as you tackle the thing
That cannot be done, and you’ll do it

"I am so much stronger than I think"

I pray that you find motivation and inspiration in the little things in life.

-Lou

4 Responses to “Motivation”

  1. Manuel Carrillo III (@manuelcarrillo3) August 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    That mountain pic looks like heaven, M8.

  2. Alison August 22, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    You CAN do it! You are bright and talented, a natural teacher! You have a loving support group that is always there for you, too. Mom

  3. Rooz August 24, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Dear Lou,

    It’s my first comment on your weblogs. I should tell, they are so inspiring and I’m grateful and glad you share part of yourself with us. I was teacher in elementary school for awhile and kinda can feel why you’re nervous. Kids are not as predictable as adults. So most of the days, early in morning before going to class, I was wondering how this day would go. As you said, it was both exciting and stressful. But I loved it.

    I can feel it from your blogs that you are full of life and kids are the bests at feeling that and responding in a positive way.

    This poem is by Jorge Luis Borges called You Learn. I hope it opens or soften your heart at least a little 🙂

    You Learn:

    After a while you learn the subtle difference
    Between holding a hand and chaining a soul,

    And you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning
    And company doesn’t mean security.

    And you begin to learn that kisses aren’t contracts
    And presents aren’t promises,

    And you begin to accept your defeats
    With your head up and your eyes open
    With the grace of …

    • Zestful Lou August 25, 2011 at 7:11 am #

      What a great poem! Thank you so much for your encouragement. I’m glad you’ve been enjoying my posts. I’ve been so busy getting my classroom ready that I haven’t had time to post a lot…but I will get back to it soon!

Leave a Reply

