Grilled Halibut and 50 Calorie Cookies

2 Jul

I don’t know why Travis and I don’t eat more fish. We both really like it, with the exception of salmon (sorry Waba!!), and it’s really good for us. I guess I’m always afraid of cooking it wrong. Overcooked fish is a travesty because a) it tastes terrible and b) good-quality fish isn’t cheap.

I love halibut but I know it can get pricey, so before going to the market I called around. First I called the local butcher shop: $22.99/lb.  Next I called the local fish market: $29.99/lb (what?!?). Lastly, I called Whole Foods and Spouts: $14.99/lb. each. Keep in mind this is all Wild Alaskan Halibut. Since Sprouts was on my way home, I stopped and picked up 3/4 lb. of fresh, firm halibut.

My favorite way to cook fish is “en papillote” or “en cartoccio” or for us English-speaking folks “in paper,” but since I wanted to avoid heating the house another degree, I cooked mine in foil on the grill. It turned out PERFECT. Flakey, moist, wonderfully seasoned, and as Travis put it “the best halibut I’ve ever had.” Isn’t he a sweetheart?

Grilled Halibut in Foil Packets

Ingredients:

  • 2 halibut filets, 6 oz. each
  • 1/2 zucchini, julienned
  • 3 mini bell peppers, julienned (or 1 large bell pepper)
  • black pepper
  • paprika
  • garlic powder
  • chili powder
  • 4 orange slices, sliced thin
  • 2 green onions, white part only, sliced lengthwise
Directions:
  1. Rinse fish with cool water and pat dry. Preheat grill to medium heat.
  2. Lay two 15″ long sheets of foil on the counter, spray with cooking spray.
  3. In the middle of each sheet, place the zucchini and bell peppers, season with salt and pepper. Lay the fish on top of the veggies. Season with pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and chili powder, covering the fish liberally with each. Lay two orange slices on top of each fillet and top with green onion.
  4. Bring the edges of the foil up and fold them over a few times, making sure you have a tight seal. Fold the ends in the same way, making sure the packet has no openings so that steam and flavor does not escape.
  5. Place on the grill for 7 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork. My fillets were thinner. Thicker fillets will take more time.   Serves 2
Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3: 

 

After this, fold the foil up to make a packet. If you’re a first-timer, Click Here for helpful step by step instructions.

I was really hungry and forgot to take pictures of the final product, but just trust me that it looked beautiful and tasted great!!

To make up for it, I’ll share a super healthy cookie bite recipe with you!

Vegan and No-Sugar-Added 2-Bite Banana Cookies

-adapted from my Vegan Banana Walnut Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp. chia seeds
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Whisk flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  3. In a small bowl, stir together mashed banana, almond milk, and chia seeds and let sit for 2 minutes.
  4. Mix flour mixture with banana mixture and stir in walnuts.
  5. Using a small cookie scoop, scoop tablespoon-sized balls of dough onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Top each cookie bite with a chocolate chip. Bake 7 minutes until just set. Remove to wire rack to cool!    Makes about 27 bites
I love that these cookies have no added sugar! The banana provides all the sweetness they need. They are slightly sweet, slightly chewy cookie bites that are perfect anytime of the day!
Travis popped one in his mouth right when he got home and I grabbed one as we headed out the door for our run this morning.
They are less than 50 calories a piece!! I think they come out to about 43 calories each, so enjoy without the guilt!
I think they’d be perfect on the dessert table at  your 4th of July party…hint, hint.
Have a fun and safe weekend!
-Lou

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Grilled Halibut and 50 Calorie Cookies”

  1. ALISON MORTEN July 2, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Yummy Halibut Filets…why don’t we cook a couple on the 4th????? I would love to try them! :^)

  2. TheKeenKitchen July 3, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Mmmm I love healthy cookies. Then you don’t feel bad when you eat like 6 in one sitting 🙂

    • Lauren July 4, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      Exactly my thinking as well!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calories Grilled - July 17, 2011

    […] Grilled Halibut and 50 Calorie Cookies « Zestful Lou Grilled Halibut and 50 Calorie Cookies. 2 Jul. I don't know why Travis and I don't eat more fish. We both really like it, with the exception of salmon (sorry Waba! ), and it's really good for us. I guess I'm always afraid of cooking it […]

Leave a Reply

