I Got The Job!

15 Jun

image So, I don’t think I told you all that I interviewed for a full-time teaching position last week. The position is in the classroom in which I currently work as in instructional assistant. It’s kindergarten to 2nd grade students with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Yesterday, I got the GREAT news that I GOT THE JOB!!!!! I am ecstatic beyond words. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry, so I did both. Shortly after hearing that I would FINALLY have my own classroom in the fall, I headed to my parents to say goodbye to my dad who was supposed to be leaving the country on business for a couple of months, but plans changed and now we’re not sure if he’s going. Any who, I stopped at my favorite bakery on the way home to pick up a “farewell” cake for him with an exciting message piped on top. I wish I would have recorded my parents’ expressions when they opened up the box to find that their little girl “Got The Job!”

It was priceless.

And that cake was delicious, by the way. It was a chocolate turtle cake with whipped cream frosting, chocolate ganache & pecan filling, and then topped with more ganache and chopped pecans.


I have so much to do to get ready for summer school, but I am loving every crazy, hectic minute of it. I feel like my hard work is paying off and everything is falling into place. (It’s funny how those two usually go hand-in-hand…)

Thank you to my family, my friends, and all of my mentors, colleagues, and helping hands that have gotten me where I am today. I couldn’t have done this without you.

-Lou

6 Responses to “I Got The Job!”

  1. Sara June 15, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Congrats LoLo, you deserve it and you’ll be great!

  2. J.G. June 15, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Laur laur,

    I am so happy for you! After working so hard to find a job, and going back to school you deserved it! Your class will be so lucky to have you as a teacher.

    Now eat some more cake!!! Love you!!!

  3. ALISON MORTEN June 15, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    YIPEE FOR YOU, MY LITTLE LOU!

  4. mamuser June 20, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    YAY! Congratulations!

    • Lauren June 20, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      Thanks Kari!! I hope you are well!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 Whole Living Action Plan « Zestful Lou - January 22, 2012

    […] that I’m well into my first year of teaching, I’m feeling a little more sure, slightly more prepared, and somewhat […]

Leave a Reply

