Strawberry Freezer Jam

13 Jun

A week ago, a new acquaintance gave me two boxes of this:

She said that she had more than she could use, and she would gladly give me a couple boxes if I promised to make freezer jam them. Pinky promises ensued and I was one happy girl.

I had never heard of freezer jam until that moment. Making jams and jellies is one of those things that scares me because it requires boiling jars and lids, buying the right kind of pectin, and doing everything correctly to avoid the lids from sealing improperly, thus making the jam not shelf-stable.

I’ve done it once with apple butter, but I remember looking at my jars thinking, “okay, did they really seal?” “How do I know for sure.” I don’t like guessing games.

Freezer jam solved my worries. As the box states, simply crush your fruit of choice, and mix it with sugar (or sugar substitute) and the packet of pectin. Pour into jars and freeze. That’s it! Literally.

😀

I’ve been trying to cut back on my sugar intake, so I substituted Splenda for real sugar. I love jams and jellies, but I use them sparingly because of the sugar. Having a sugar-free stash will let me spread and stir strawberry jam onto EVERYTHING!!!!!

Sugar-Free Strawberry Freezer Jam

  • 2 (16 oz) strawberries, washed and sliced in half*** see note below
  • 1 1/2 cup Splenda (or sugar)
  • 1 packet Ball Fruit Jell Pectin for No-Cook Freezer Jam
Directions:
  1. Crush the strawberries in a food processor until mostly broken down, but leaving a little texture to them. You should have 4 cups.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the Splenda and the packet of pectin.
  3. Stir the crushed strawberries into the Splenda mixture. Continue stirring for 3 minutes.
  4. Pour into jars, leaving 1/2″ headspace. Apply lids and let sit for 30 minutes to thicken. Place in refrigerator to use within 3 weeks, or freeze for up to year.  Makes 5  8oz. jars or  2.5  16oz. jars.
NOTE: The packet of pectin stated that 4  one-pound containers of strawberries would equal four cups of crushed fruit, but I got 4 cups from just two containers.

Crushed strawberries

Stirring the strawberries with the pectin and Splenda

 I put two jars into the freezer and half a jar went straight to the fridge for immediate use!

I enjoyed some on toast with Earth Balance spread…

But then quickly determined that I also needed peanut butter!!

I think my strawberries were a little tart to begin with, so the jam has a tartness to it that is not typical of most jams.

I can’t wait to have some stirred into greek yogurt or cottage cheese!!!! Or even spooned over my oatmeal in the morning! Mmmm!!

I also bought 2 1/2 lbs. of apricots hoping to make a batch of apricot jam, but sadly, the apricots are extremely sour. I’m glad I tasted them before I turned them into jam!!

I hope you’ll try this soon because it’s SO EASY and you can have homemade jam in about 35 minutes. Next time, I’ll be sure to use extra sweet strawberries.

I’m going to take a late-afternoon nap. I’ve been a little under the weather.

Enjoy the rest of your day!

-Lou

2 Responses to “Strawberry Freezer Jam”

  1. The Lonely Cannibal June 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    wow wouldn’t have guessed that was possible. The wife and I make jam about once a year (as the amount we make generally lasts that long). It is kind of an intimidating process and if you get that stuff on you then you know how bad a burn can be when its molten sugar. Still pretty awesome though I might give it a shot just to compare since we are down to our last jar of last summers batch.

  2. Sara June 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    It’s so pretty! I still crush up my strawberries, mix them with chia seeds, some stevia, and put it in the fridge.

    I hope you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

