Slow Cooker Chili Stew

21 May

My parent’s house is like a scaled-down Costco. The garage shelves are stocked with economy-sized everything: cereal, tissues, paper towels, napkins, plates, chips, snack foods, cases of water, packages of toothbrushes. You name it. If you’re ever caught in a Y2K-esque situation, pray that you are in my parent’s garage.

I swing by their place about once a week because my credential classes are out that way. Mom and Dad try to send me home with my backseat full of their wholesale warehouse products. Consequently, I have rolls of toilet paper stashed in obscure places around our apartment because my bathroom doesn’t have space for 32 rolls of  “ye old stall scroll.”

On my last trip home, not only did I drive away with enough paper products to make any environmentalist cringe, but I scored a crockpot that had been collecting dust in the back of the hall closet. Doesn’t everyone have a spare, top-of-the-line crockpot sitting around? No? Hmmm, just my parents then. (love you mom and dad!)

The following recipe came about for two reasons: 1) I now have a crockpot and 2) I had a fridge full of odds and ends left over from this weeks dinnners and a crisper drawer overflowing with expiring produce.

I basically threw everything that I needed to use up into the crockpot with a few spices and a splash of beer and called it dinner. And you know what? It was delicious.

Slow Cooker Chili Stew

  • 1 cup cooked chicken breast, chopped
  • 1 cup canned corn
  • 2 large zucchini, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 1 small yukon gold potato, diced
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can diced, fire-roasted tomatoes, with juice
  • 1/2 cup beer (any cheap beer will do)
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp. chipotle chile seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder
Directions:
  1. Spray the inside of the crockpot with nonstick spray. Toss in all of the ingredients and give it a good stir.
  2. Turn on to high and cook 5-6 hours. Serve with cornbread, biscuits, a big green salad, or tortilla chips, and garnish with diced onion, and a sprinkle of shredded colby jack cheese. Makes 4 hearty servings or 6 regular servings.
Everybody in the pool
As usual, I got so hungry and excited to eat that I forgot to take a picture of the finished product, which Travis and I enjoyed with freshly baked whole-grain biscuits.
I call this a chili stew because it’s not quite as thick as a chili, but still too thick to call soup. We both loved it, and it was a fabulous use of abundant leftovers.
I already have a second crockpot meal planned for the upcoming week. Stay tuned!
Tonight is Jordan’s birthday celebration at Gjelina in Venice Beach. My camera battery is ready to capture every delicious morsel that passes my lips! Comeback for a recap and a review!
See you soon!!
-Lou
One Response to “Slow Cooker Chili Stew”

  1. Mom and Dad May 23, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Your a real comedian… We love to read your blog. The chili sounds so good. And the part about our Costco store in the garage.

    Be safe, love Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

