Four-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

16 Apr

Sometimes I just need a quick fix. Like last weekend when I was craving peanut butter cookies. Now I could, like normal people, get in my car and drive to the nearest store or bakery and buy one, but I am not normal.

But what do you do when you’re too tired to actually get out the flour, the eggs, the salt, the butter…and cream, and mix, and fold, and ugh!

I flashed back to a few years ago when I made peanut butter cookies from three ingredients. They came together in a couple minutes and I was on my way to peanut butter cookie heaven. I added one more ingredient to these cookies because, well, I don’t really know why, but I did. The first time I ever made these, I didn’t use baking soda and they turned out fine, but this time I added baking soda and it kept them soft and chewy. I’ve found that without it, they become crumbly after a few hours.

Four-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup natural creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar (half brown, half white gives the best flavor and texture), plus more for rolling
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Combine all ingredients in the bowl of your electric mixture and mix until thoroughly combined.
  3. Roll dough into walnut sized balls and roll in white sugar to coat.
  4. Place on a cookie sheet 2 inches apart. Flatten with a fork, making a criss-cross design. At this point, I stuck a chocolate chip into each cookie, but I would have preferred them without any adornment.
  5. Bake 8-10 minutes until lightly golden on edges. Cool on wire racks.
1-2-3-4
The mixture was a little dry, but it still came together. It depends on how oily your peanut butter is, I guess.
Sorry for the low-quality pictures. Unfortunately my late-night sweet tooth does not coincide with the day’s best lighting.
I packed these up to go and took them to a casual get-together with friends. They were gone in minutes.
 So let’s recap:
☑ Minimal Ingredients
☑ Minutes to prepare
☑ Tastes Amazing
What are you waiting for? Go make these and make someone (and yourself) very happy!!
The kiddos are work with are on Spring Break, which means I have 9 days off!! Let the cooking sprees commence!
See ya!
-Lou
2 Responses to “Four-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies”

  1. The Lonely Cannibal April 17, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    looks amazing think I will try it out today

  2. aison morten April 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    OH YUMMY!!! PLEASE MAKE SOME FOR US! WE SURE MISS YOU AROUND HERE…NO ONE TO COOK AND BAKE YUMMY THINGS LIKE THOSE PEANUTBUTTER COOKIES! LOVS XO :^D

Leave a Reply

