Twenty-Four

18 Mar

My 24th birthday has come and gone. I am another year older, another year wiser, and happier than I’ve ever been!

I had a relaxing birthday dinner with family and friends at a local mexican restaurant, and then we all came back to my house and celebrated with vegan cupcakes and lots of presents!!!

I started my meal with a classic mojito: Rum, lots of fresh lime, muddled mint, simple syrup, and a splash of soda. It was garnished with fresh lime wedges and a cherry. Zesty!

Travis had a Corona. Nuff said.

Everyone asked me if I was going to keep up the “vegan thing” on my birthday. I’ll admit, when I got the restaruant, I was really craving their carnitas!! But I held true to my word of being vegan until Easter. I really want to see how this change in my diet will make me feel, and I know that if I make little exceptions here and there I will not get the true experience.

In all the birthday fun, I forgot to take pictures of our food.

I ordered the vegetable fajitas which came with seared veggies, handmade flour tortillas, guacamole, pico de gallo, and mexican rice. I was stuffed and I didn’t feel deprived at all. How could anyone feel deprived when there is bottomless chips and salsa???

That is one happy birthday girl.

Friends!

Travis and Me

After dinner, we headed home for my favorite part…dessert!!!

On the menu were vegan chocolate cupcakes with vanilla “buttercream.”

My sister also bought a Baskin Robbins Ice Cream Cake. I think she was afraid of the cupcakes.

They sang “Happy Birthday.”

I blew out the candles!

And then everyone enjoyed their cupcakes, ice cream cake, and a fresh strawberry frozen yogurt that I made a few days earlier, but sadly, did not get to eat. I heard it was really good, though. 🙂

Presents!

Silly faces were made...

My sister got us all tickets for a party cruise! haha

Travis got me tickets to a baseball game! I love baseball season.

Gina and Me

Thank you to everyone who made my birthday special! Mom & Dad: You’re the best, and so are all my lovely siblings. I love all of you so much!

Happy Friday!

-Lou

One Response to “Twenty-Four”

  1. Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing March 25, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    I love baseball! What a special gift 🙂 Happy belated birthday (and props for sticking to your vegan experiment, when most people would let it slide on a Bday)!

Leave a Reply

