The 39 Day Vegan

11 Mar

My coworkers and students threw me a cute birthday party at school today! There were cupcakes, juice boxes, and lots of frosting covered faces! The students wished me “Happy Birthday” ALL day long! They are such sweeties.

Sadly, I did not get to join in on the cupcake fun because, even though I am not catholic, I decided to go Vegan for Lent. Actually, I decided the day after Lent that I should go vegan, so for the next 39, 38 days, you will see all vegan recipes and listen to me complain about how much I miss having omelets on Sunday morning.

I know I have only been vegan for two days, but I already feel better. I feel like I have more energy, I have been eating enough vegetables to satisfy a gorilla, and my sweet tooth hasn’t been out of control like it usually is.

After completing my challenges from days 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5, I was starving and ready to eat!

Dinner was simple enough:

That would be two slices of veggie pizza (hold the cheese!) from a local pizzeria alongside a salad made with crisp green leaf lettuce from this morning’s CSA delivery and topped with orange cherry tomatoes, sliced button mushrooms, extra virgin olive oil and pomegranate balsamic vinegar.

Organic CSA lettuce makes me happy.

The pomegranate balsamic vinegar I use is good enough to drink! It’s thick and sweet and prefers not to be whisked into a dressing that might mask it’s flavor.

It runs about $20 bucks a bottle, but it lasts a long time if you just use it for drizzling on salads or over juicy strawberries and vanilla ice cream. I get it at a little place on Balboa Island called Olive Oil and Beyond, and yes, I have made the hour-long drive solely to buy a bottle. They have so many amazing flavors to choose from and you can taste as many as you want!

Dessert was a few pieces of chocolate; dark, of course.

 

I bought this chocolate bar today because I had a $1.00 off coupon! I’m a sucker for coupons.

May I just say that this is one of the best bars of chocolate I have ever tasted??!!!

I’ve got the golden ticket…

 

It has crispy little bits of freeze-dried raspberries. The texture is so pleasant and the contrast of the 70% dark chocolate and the sweet raspberries is ahhhh-mazing. 🙂

See all those little bits of delight?? 

I also had a hot cup of herbal chai from Trader Joe’s. 

 

Speaking of Trader Joe’s, I have work first thing in the A.M. (on my birthday 😦 )

I had better get some sleep. Goodnight everyone. I hope your Friday night was a little more exciting than mine. Keep up with those challenges! Two days left! You can do it!

-Lou

Leave a Reply

