Day 5: Stretching Challenge

11 Mar

Good morning! 

That’s a picture I took when I lived at the beach. I thought it might help you start your day on the right foot! 🙂

Okay, down to business. Most people do not stretch nearly enough. Unless you do yoga regularly, my guess is that you’re not as flexible as you could be. I’m certainly not!!

Stretching is a simple way to prevent injuries and keep our bodies limber and strong.

I used to do a Yoga for Runners routine after my runs to loosen up my tight hips, hamstrings, and quads, but I’ve gotten lazy. My favorite routine is a YouTube video posted by Flexiblewarrioryoga. You can find the video here. It’s just under 10 minutes and it’s a great stretch for all of the major leg and hip muscles that get tight after a run.

I know, I know…you’re thinking you don’t have time for this. Trust me, if you don’t make time to stretch, you will be making time to rest because you are injured. I’ve been there. You only have to do it for three days until this challenge is over, but you may find that you feel so much better during and after your workout that you’ll stick with it for a while!

Here’s a recap of the challenge thus far:

Day 1: Abs

Day 2: Arms

Day 3: Drink water (Believe it or not, this is the most difficult of the challenges for me!)

Day 4: 20 minutes of cardio

Day 5: Yoga stretching

Only 2 more challenges left! Stick with it. I bet you’re feeling stronger and more hydrated already!

Enjoy your FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I like Fridays).

-Lou

One Response to “Day 5: Stretching Challenge”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 7: Get Enough Sleep « Zestful Lou - March 13, 2011

    […] Day 5 […]

Leave a Reply

