Phillipe The Original

6 Mar

I got to cross another “to-do” off my bucket list today.  My bucket list is far too long to share all of it with you right now, but I will share this experience.

Travis and I made the short drive into Los Angeles today to eat at Phillipe the Original. It’s an institution here in L.A., serving french dipped sandwiches since 1908.

Our first glimpse of the institution

My parents are very familiar with this famous restaurant, having spent a lot of time in L.A. in their lifetimes, so they were excited to learn that Travis and I were finally going to experience the juicy, beefy glory for ourselves. Upon entering the front double doors, this is what we saw…

That would be people…and lots of ’em!

Phillipe’s works like this:  There is a long display counter with 10 lines. Each line is run by a “carver” who takes your order, slices the meat of your choice, dips the bread in the au jus, and serves it all up on paper plates. The lines are long, but that usually means one thing: it’s gotta be good.

The Sandwiches

Soups of the day

Potato Salad, Coleslaw, Macaroni Salad

Finally, after about 30 minutes of waiting, we got to the front of the line. Even though it was our first time there, I felt like a pro when I ordered. “We’ll have two double-dipped beef sandwiches, two iced teas, one lemonade, macaroni salad, and one chocolate cream pie.”  She served it all up in about a minute, and we were on our way upstairs to the cafeteria-like dining rooms where you get to sit elbow to elbow with people from all walks of life.

The grub

Okay! Enough pictures! Dig in!

Ohhhhh, it was soo good…

And then I spied Phillipe’s famous mustard in a squeeze bottle…

A little goes a long way because it’s “Hot but Good” according to the painted sign we saw downstairs. They make 40 gallons of their hot mustard twice weekly, and you can buy it for $4 a jar. I’m getting some on our next trip.

We ate every last bite. 

The sandwiches, double-dipped, were perfectly moist. I would not recommend the single dip because it would be too dry, and the “wet” might be, well, wet…aka: soggy. We also didn’t get cheese on ours, but you have the choice of swiss, american, blue, and jack. We wanted the unadulterated version for our first go-round. I might try the swiss next time…but I’m a purist and I like it the way it’s meant to be: crusty french bread, salty au jus, and tender beef.

The macaroni salad was simple but very good, and the pie….oh yeah. Creamy chocolate, whipped cream, chocolate sprinkles, and a buttery, flakey crust.

Travis said he wants to visit Phillipe’s on a regular basis, and I have to say, that is A-Okay with me.  🙂

We’re going for little stroll around the park to enjoy this nice weekend and play some catch with the football.

Happy Sunday Evening to you.

-Lou

Goodbye Phillipe! Nice to meet you. See you very, very soon.

 

8 Responses to “Phillipe The Original”

  1. Mom and Dad March 6, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    I miss getting a double beef dip and some macaroni salad. When I worked undercover, my Detective Supervisors would hit Philippe’s once a week with me…. Loves Dad

  2. Trac March 7, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    How fun!! I ate a Beef Dip from Buffalo Inn on Saturday and Sunday night. I’ll have to try this place.

    • Zestful Lou March 7, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      I haven’t been to the Buffalo Inn in ages!

  3. aison morten March 7, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Philippe’s was our old USC hangout back in the ’70’s. Loved all the yummy dishes but especially the pickled eggs…one of my favorites!!

    XXOO Mom

  4. Ellie June 22, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Niiiice I live near LA so I’m definitely gonna check this place out! It looks so juicy…..;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No Cooking Means No Recipes « Zestful Lou - August 30, 2011

    […] my sisters and I gobbled down some French dips at Phillipe’s in Los Angeles. Remember my first post about this place? It was as good as the first time.  Pictured below from left to right: 65 cent iced tea, Split pea […]

  2. Phillipe The Original (via Zestful Lou) « ladyladylike - September 6, 2011

    […] Tell me what you think! I got to cross another “to-do” off my bucket list today.  My bucket list is far too long to share all of it with you right now, but I will share this experience. Travis and I made the short drive into Los Angeles today to eat at Phillipe the Original. It’s an institution here in L.A., serving french dipped sandwiches since 1908. My … Read More […]

  3. Spinach Protein Pancakes « Zestful Lou - March 17, 2012

    […] It’s from Phillipe the Original in LA. They make the best french dip sandwiches around and they’ve been there for over 100 years! My sister’s and I went there not too long ago. Check it out over here. […]

Leave a Reply

