Oats in a Jar

3 Mar

I was talking to a truck driver one day while working at Trader Joe’s. He was telling me about all of the cities and states he’d been through and I asked if the traffic wears him down. I don’t know about you, but to me, traffic is physically and mentally draining…espcially around Los Angeles. When I asked him which city has the worst traffic in the country, he looked at me and laughed and said, “honey, you’re living in it.”

Enter sigalert.

Sigalert saves me a lot of headaches in the morning. I check it a few times before I leave for work to keep an eye on the least congested route. The sigalert traffic cameras were showing parking lots instead of freeways this morning, which means that I needed to leave extra early to make it to work on time. I love that it takes me over an hour to go 29 miles. Not.

Truck drivers? Traffic? What’s this have to do with oats, you ask? Because these oats were born to be on the go.

Anyone who lingers in the food blog world has probably stumbled across these oats, but for those of you who have not, please allow me to explain.

When your jar of peanut butter (or almond butter, or cashew butter, or pecan butter, or, dare I say….Nutella!) gets down to the last tablespoon or two of creamy goodness, cook a pot of oatmeal and then dump it straight into the jar and stir your little heart out. The hot oatmeal melts all of that delicious nut butter and mixes it right into your oats. And the best part? No dishes! (Unless you want to save the jar like I did).

That’s not just an ordinary jar of almond butter, folks. No, no. Inside holds something beautiful.

image

Well, maybe not beautiful, but certainly delicious.

image

Oats in a Jar

  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 roughly mashed banana
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to taste

Directions: Cook all ingredients together over low heat for 5-10 minutes until oats are cooked. Pour into your jar, stir, and indulge.

image

Yes, I did take pictures of my oats while I was in my car. No, I do not recommend that you do this.

There is something about finishing a jar of nut butter that makes me feel so accomplished. I guess I don’t have very lofty goals in life if polishing off some almond butter is my idea of success.  😉

If you can restrain yourself from scraping your next jar of peanut butter clean with your finger or a spoon, I suggest you give these oats a whirl!

Have a good night! I need to go prep for tomorrow’s Cat in the Hat party with my students. We’re making green eggs and ham and wearing our jammies to school! Hopefully I can snap a few photos!

-Lou

5 Responses to “Oats in a Jar”

  1. Trac March 4, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Great idea!
    Hope the Green Eggs and Ham went well.

  2. aison morten March 5, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Did you like them in a glass? I know you liked them with your class! Did you eat them in your jammies? I bet you liked green eggs and hammies! yummy!! 🙂

    xoxoxo M&D

  3. 98191 May 14, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Nice post. I study something similar here at UCLA.
    It’s definitely valuable to learn new facts from fellow writers and gather expertise from new sources. If it’s okay,
    I’d definitely appreciate it if I can use some of the articles on your blog. And of course, I’ll
    post a link to your site at wordpress.com on my own blog.
    Kudos for posting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oats In A (Nutella!) Jar « Zestful Lou - June 14, 2011

    […] me, a tablespoon of nut butter in the bottom of the jar automatically means oats in a jar for breakfast. Why should Nutella be any different? It is, after all, hazelnut butter…just […]

Leave a Reply

