Peanut Butter Brownie Tart

31 Jan

Don’t judge me. I’m embarrassed enough as it.

I caved, okay?

I used…

…a boxed brownie mix.

I know! I know! How could I? I feel so guilty.

But when I have to bake a dessert for a dinner with Travis’s friends, and when I open up Travis’s cupboards and find that he has absolutely NO baking ingredients…well, I got desperate.

Let’s look at it another way:

Brownie Truffle Baking Mix: $2.99

OR

Flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder, semisweet chocolate: You do the math.

So yeah, I bought a boxed brownie mix. But it’s Trader Joe’s boxed brownie mix. It’s excellent. And while I’m admitting things here, It’s probably better than most homemade brownies I’ve made.

So judge me if you will, but it was the responsible thing to do. Plus, I doctored it up quite a bit so no one will ever know. Well, almost no one. 😉

Peanut Butter Brownie Tart

  • 1 recipe of your favorite brownie (or a boxed mix)
  • 1/3 cup roasted, lightly salted peanuts, chopped

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Ganache:

  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate
  • 1 tablespoon creamy peanut butter
  • 4 tablespoons heavy cream

Preheat the oven as indicated by the brownie recipe. Grease a 9″ tart pan with a removable bottom.

Prepare the brownies as directed. Stir in the peanuts until just combined. Pour into prepared pan and bake according to recipe directions. Mine took 25 minutes at 350F.

Let cool and remove ring from tart pan. Transfer to your serving plate.

Prepare the ganache by melting the chocolate chips, peanut butter, and heavy cream in a microwave safe bowl, stirring every 15-20 seconds so that chocolate does not seize.

Using the end of a wooden spoon, gently twist holes into the tart, being careful not to poke all the way through and spacing evenly throughout the tart. Pour the ganache into the holes creating a lovely polka dot design. Will keep in fridge for a week, or wrap tightly and freeze.

Chop those peanuts!

Toss ’em in the brownie batter…

And pour it into the tart pan

Place the tart pan on a foil or parchment-lined baking sheet in case some batter tries to escape. Pop ‘er into the oven.

[Note: Travis did not have this adorable little tart pan stashed away in his manly cupboards…I had to go buy one at Target.]

When it’s done, it will have lovely little waves, like so:

Once it’s cooled, make the holes and fill them with the chocolate peanut butter ganache. You will have more than enough ganache, so feel free to eat the rest with a spoon. Or just pour it straight into your mouth. I, uh, I didn’t do that. 😉

What a beauty

When you cut into it, you will find luxurious little pockets of rich ganache amidst crunchy peanuts and creamy chocolate chips. Wipe that drool off your keyboard.

Achilles update: Still hurting. 😦  Race day is quickly approaching and it’s looking more and more like I won’t be racing. I haven’t heard anything about last week’s interview either, so I will keep you posted on that as well.

Think happy, positive thoughts for me!

Have a great night!

-Lou

 

3 Responses to “Peanut Butter Brownie Tart”

  1. jordan gass February 1, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    I will be sad if you can’t run. 😦 You worked so hard.

  2. Mom and Dad February 1, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Hey Lou, finally a receipe that your I can actually make. I can even do the ganache… Great blog today, made Dad and me really laugh. We love you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Patriotic Fruit Cobbler « Zestful Lou - July 3, 2011

    […] in a pinch or I need to use what I have on hand, and in these times I have no issue turning to a box of brownie mix or a couple of bags of frozen berries, which I’ve used in the recipe […]

Leave a Reply

