CSA Box and A Dinner Flop

30 Jan

Bad News. My achilles tendon is still in quite a bit of pain my sudden increase in mileage from a couple weeks ago. The half marathon is a week from today, and I am not sure that I will be running in it. To say that I’m dissapointed is an understatement, but I have to play the cards I’ve been dealt. C’est la vie!

For now, this is my reality:

Ice, Ice Baby!

 

On a happier note, my second CSA delivery came today with a bounty of local and organic fruits and vegetables!

I get so excited for each delivery because neatly unpacking tearing into the box is like reliving Christmas morning every other week. Yippeee!

Let’s take a gander at the loot this week!

Oh My

Let’s see…

That looks like

  • 3 Fuji apples (there were 4 at one point 😉 )
  • 3 mandarin oranges (again, there were 4 prior to this photo shoot)
  • 1 bunch red chard
  • 2 heads broccoli
  • 1 pound gold potatoes
  • 1 bunch carrots

I love all the colors, but I’ll admit that I’m a little frightened by the chard. I’ve only had it a couple of times, but I’ve never been impressed. Maybe I will find a new way to prepare it and it will knock my socks off. Who knows?

Hrrmmm...

They always say to eat your colors…

Red:

 

Orange: 

Yellow:

Teensy Weensy 'Tatoes

Taters

Green: 

 

I thought I’d use the potatoes and carrots to make a lovely Manhattan Style Clam Chowder for dinner. Sounds good, right?

WRONG. So wrong.

Canned clams...my first mistake...

We got these new clams at Trader Joe’s:

It looks harmless enough, no?

I don’t know where or when it went all wrong, but boy did it ever go wrong.

Travis compared it to gym socks and burnt rubber. I would have to agree. I had a taste before he did, and I fervently warned him not to do it…but he didn’t listen. It stunk up his house, upset my stomach, and we had to leave just to escape the stench. We ended up eating at a gourmet food truck that parks around the corner on Saturday nights, serving up korean fusion tacos and burritos.

Pure comedy.

Not every venture in the kitchen can turn out great. I’ve had my share of flops, but I think this has been the most inedible of them all.

Sadly, half of my CSA veggies were in that soup. I still have the chard though.  Any ideas on what to do with that???

-Lou

 

 

 

2 Responses to “CSA Box and A Dinner Flop”

  1. jordan gass January 30, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I’ve got a recipe for swiss chard stuffed pork loin that is pretty tasty. Try that!

  2. Mom and Dad January 30, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    So sorry to hear,and see, that the chowder was a flop. Dad was looking forward to a bowl! The veggies look amazing! Keep up the great posts!

    Love,

    Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

