Waffles For Dinner

28 Jan

What a whirlwind of a week!

I started a new job as a substitute aide in an autism classroom. I worked in the classroom everyday this week and I absolutely love it! Sure, the kids are a handful, but they are so loving and the rewards far outweigh the challenges. The district is looking to fill this position with a full-time employee, and I had the privilege of interviewing for this spot yesterday morning. I was so nervous all day leading up to it, and my stomach got so upset that I had to eat some of the kids graham crackers just to calm it down a bit.  A little background about me: I don’t consider myself to be the most eloquent speaker, which is why I’d always prefer to write when given the choice. I typically choke in public speaking situations where I have to answer on-the-spot questions.

Despite my lack of articulation in stressful situations, the interview went smoothly. I left feeling confident and relieved that I didn’t say something utterly ridiculous or get tongue-tied and come off as un unintelligible fool.

I am still keeping my position at Trader Joe’s, but I will be there only a day or two a week assuming that I get this job. **Fingers crossed!**

I will keep you updated…I should know by Monday.

I spent the evening with Travis again and he had a brilliant idea. BFD. No, not ‘that’ BFD….Breakfast For Dinner! Don’t be so tawdry.

I finally uncovered my waffle iron from the depths of the garage and I’ve been on a little waffle kick ever since. Since Travis and I are a) broke  b) lazy after long days at work and c) still very in touch with our “inner-child,” we jumped on the chance to have this delightful breakfast treat at 7pm on a Thursday.

I always use Trader Joe’s Multigrain Baking and Pancake Mix for my waffles because they turn out so darn good. Here’s a secret though: I completely omit the oil from the directions and they STILL turn out fabulously!

image source

Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner Waffles

  • 2 cups TJ’s Multigrain Baking and Pancake Mix
  • 1 cup milk (cow’s, almond, soy…etc.)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup blackberries, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup blueberries, rinsed
  • 1 peach, chopped
  • 1/4 cup real maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

Directions: Preheat waffle iron and spray with cooking spray. Whisk the egg whites and milk. Stir mixture into baking mix until combined.  Let sit for five minutes until slightly bubbly. Pour onto waffle iron. Makes 4 four-inch belgian waffles.

Set berries and peaches aside. Stir together maple syrup and applesauce. When waffles are done, remove them to serving plates, spread with butter, if desired, and top with berries and maple-apple mixture.

Dinner is served!

Mine is on the left, Travis's on the right

Travis opted for the more traditional toppings of butter and Aunt Jemima.

Travis's Masterpiece

I went the healthier route with my lower sugar “syrup” and significantly less butter than Travis.

My waffle, pre-applesauce mixture

They were filling, delicious, and fun. And now I’m going to relax on the couch because I am exhausted.

Come back tomorrow to find out what was in this morning’s CSA delivery! It’s some good stuff and the recipe wheels are turning once again people.

Have a great Friday night!

-Lou

Leave a Reply

