Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats

18 Jan

Vegan overnight oats are making their comeback as a breakfast staple! (Well, in my life at least). I am working a lot of really early mornings this week, and overnight oats are a perfect “it’s-too-dark-to-be-cooking-my-own-breakfast” type of food because you prepare them the night before.

Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats

This morning I was subbing Kindergarten, so I knew that I would need a solid breakfast to get my energy up for the ankle biters. Turns out they weren’t as chaotic as normal (thank you 3-day weekend for wearing them out!). I had a lot of fun with them today and found myself chuckling under my breath at their antics. It’s days like this that remind me why I got into teaching in the first place. (Because God knows there are days when I cannot, for the life of me, remember).

I always find my mornings to be more relaxing if I pack my lunch and prepare my breakfast the night before. Last night before bed, I stirred up my oats, popped them into the fridge, and VIOLA! This morning the breakfast fairy replaced the gloppy mess with a thick, rich cup of pumpkin-pie flavored oatmeal. Thanks breakfast fairy.

Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats

-adapted from Oh She Glows

1/4 cup old-fashioned oats

1/4 cup pure canned pumpkin

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/4 cup liquid egg whites

1 Tbsp. molasses

1 tsp. vanilla

1 Tbsp. chia seeds

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ginger

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Apple butter, raw nuts, and raisins for topping

Toss all the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and whisk, whisk, whisk, until frothy. The mixture will appear very thin, but marvelous things happen overnight. Just wait and see.

Gather your ingredients! (Note* Spices are not pictured. Oops!)

The chia seeds make it nice and thick

It's okay. I won't judge you if you licked the screen.

Okay…now that I’m home from one job, I’m off to the next! Have a great night and please try the oats. They really pack quite a nutritious punch first thing in the morning!

-Lou

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats”

  1. tara April 19, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Hi…you don’t have to heat the egg whites or anything? Just in one bowl and leave overnght?

    • Lauren April 19, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      I used egg whites from a carton. They are already pasteurized so you don’t have to worry about bacteria. They’re great for adding into smoothies or other uncooked treats! I wouldn’t use raw egg whites. Glad you asked!

Leave a Reply

