Do as I say, Not as I do

14 Jan

I got a special delivery on my doorstep this morning!!!!!

What’s inside?! Let’s find out!  But first….some advice about running.

Do As I Say, Not As I Do:

Do: Increase your weekly mileage by no more than 10% a week. That means if you ran 20 miles last week, you’ll run 22 miles this week. Continue this pattern until you reach your desired mileage.

Don’t: Do as I did and go from taking a week off to running 40 miles in 5 days, thus causing great pain in my achilles tendon.

Do: Stretch thoroughly after each run.

Don’t: Get lazy and take a shower in lieu of stretching, creating tight muscles that could lead to injury.

Do: Listen to your body, especially during a workout.

Don’t: Tell yourself that you HAVE to run at least an hour a day because you wrote it on your blog, ignoring the fact that you feel terrible.

Yesterday was one of the rare days that I finished my run and actually wished that I had slept in instead. I set out to do an 8.5 mile loop from Travis’s and I felt great for the first half. When I made it to the beach at the halfway point I stopped to watch the surfers as the sun rose over the water. It was beautiful and I wish the run had ended there. But I still had over 4 miles to run and by this time my achilles was hurting to badly that I was starting to tear up.

I hobbled my way back to Travis’s and shed a tear or two when I got there because

1) I was frozen solid from the wind and cold morning air, and

2) I felt defeated and was in pain

So take it from me folks, listen to your body. When something inside you says “Hmmm…that doesn’t feel right,” take it seriously.

This morning I’m taking it a little bit easier. I’m taking the day off, icing my achilles, and enjoying a nice, big green monster for breakfast!

Into the blender went 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 2 cups water, 1 teaspoon almond butter, 1.5 cups frozen spinach, 1/4 frozen banana, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1 Tbsp. ground flaxseed. Blend away and drink your veggies without even realizing it!

Okay, I’ve made you wait long enough. I know you’re dying to know what was in that box!!

This morning I got my first CSA delivery! CSA = Community Supported Agriculture. I recently signed up to receive a twice-monthly delivery of locally farmed, organically grown fruits and veggies.

Look at these colors!

In the small fruits and veggies mixed box was:

1.5 lbs. Gala Apples

4 Cara Cara Oranges

1 Bunch Carrots

1 Butternut Squash

1 Bunch Kale

1 Bunch Leaf Lettuce

1 lb. Red Onions

They even include recipes and fun facts!

If you’re wondering about Cara Cara Oranges, they are a low-acid navel orange with a bright orange exterior and pinkish-red, juicy flesh. It has a sweet flavor with a touch of tang, and is packed with Vitamin C, Vitamin A, and fiber. It is a cross between a Brazilian Bahia orange and a Washington Orange. Now I will be well informed when customers at Trader Joe’s ask me about our recent shipment of Cara Cara oranges!

I can’t wait to cook with the kale and butternut squash! The recipe wheels are turning, my friends!

Have you ever heard of a CSA program? Does joining a CSA interest you? Leave your feedback in the comments section!

Have a great start to your weekend!

-Lou

One Response to “Do as I say, Not as I do”

  1. Tammy McLeod January 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Mmm. I haven’t thought of putting almond butter in my smoothie but I love green smoothies.

Leave a Reply

