Back in the Groove

11 Jan

Hello!!!

The fourth day after my long hilly run and I am finally feeling back to normal. This morning I slipped on my running shoes, pulled on some running tights, and slid on the arm warmers that I used to use when I mountain biked. It was cold today! Cold enough to bundle up, but not so cold that my Grandma, who lived her 95 years as a Nebraskan farm woman, wouldn’t have called it “picnic weather.” Miss you Granny.

The run felt great once I got warmed up. I enjoyed the company of my Garmin Forerunner as usual. He’s the best running buddy because he’s always there showing me my pace, beeping at me every mile, challenging me to push it just a little more than I would if he wasn’t there.

Here he is displaying the final stats of this morning’s run:

Garmin Forerunner 310XT

Total Time: 64:03

Distance: 8.35 miles

Average Pace: 7:40/mile

Calories Burned: 914

Here’s the breakdown per mile:

Mile 1: 8:15

Mile 2: 8:13

Mile 3: 8:05

Mile 4: 7:52

Mile 5: 7:40

Mile 6: 7:18

Mile 7: 7:02

Mile 8: 6:55

Mile 8-8.35: 2:41

I always prefer to run negative splits if I can, but I wasn’t trying to today so I was really excited to see negative splits on my watch! Negative splits are when you run each mile or repeat faster than the last. It’s a great habit to get into for racing.

I followed my run with a walk around the block and 15 minutes worth of stretching and core work.

I also refueled with a delicious and satisfying breakfast….Carrot Cake Oatmeal! It’s like my favorite dessert for breakfast!

Carrot Cake Oatmeal with Toppings!

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

  • 1/4 cup regular oats
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 medium carrot, shredded
  • 2 tsp. vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. molasses
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and cook on low for 10 minutes until thick and carrots are soft. Serve with your favorite toppings.

I topped mine with homemade apple butter that I jarred a few months back when my sisters and I brought home dozens of pounds of apples from the local U-Pick orchard. I also sprinkled on some raw walnuts and finished it off with a drizzle of creamy almond butter. It was pure delight…and super filling! A good balance of carbs and protein for my tired muscles.

If you’ll excuse me, I have some brownies to remove the oven. You’ll see them soon! Have a great Tuesday!

-Lou

3 Responses to “Back in the Groove”

  1. Shaena January 12, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    This is great Lauren! I’m going to follow your blog because I just recently decided to do the Disney 1/2 marathon. I’m not a runner at all so all your advice is great. I’m going to start pre-training in the next week or two just so I can get use to running. I might be picking you brain soon…you’ll be hearing from me.

  2. Mom and Dad January 12, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    Wow, your blog is so funny and cute. We just read the comments from our friend, Shaena, and see that you now have three followers. Give Shaena some good running tips since this will be her first big race.

    Keep up the good work and would love to taste some of your treats before you eat them all…

    Loves, Mom and Pops

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Slowly Finding Normalcy « Zestful Lou - September 20, 2011

    […] Carrot Cake Oatmeal is so good. It’s been too long since I’ve had […]

Leave a Reply

