Welcome!

10 Jan

Welcome to Zestful Lou. This blog has been a long time in the making. And by that, I really mean it has been a long time in the thinking. I started a blog a long time ago, but it just wasn’t the right time in my life to be keeping a blog. I’ve been thinking about creating another one for quite some time now…sooooo, here it is!

I would like to give you a  little background about myself.

My name is Lou. Actually it’s Lauren, but Lou will do.

I have my teaching credential and Masters in Teaching, but have yet to find a teaching job in this economy. 😦  It’s okay though. I know I shouldn’t be in a rush to have a full-time job. Most people would love to be in my situation. I have a lot of free time now that I’m not in school anymore, which gives me more time to spend with Travis, my boyfriend, as well as more time to train for races and more time to create and test recipes in the kitchen.

I am the second of four kids. I have an older brother and two younger sisters, and I am close with all of them. I love my parents for all of the support throughout my life and for the great example of marriage they have set for the four of us. I also have one pet: a tortoise named Rocky who lives in the backyard.

I spend my free time in the following ways:

  1. With Travis
  2. Reading food blogs. Particularly Oh She Glows and Smitten Kitchen
  3. Drinking coffee and discussing Smitten Kitchen recipes with my best friend Jordan
  4. Watching Food Network, Bones, Friends, and Grey’s Anatomy
  5. Hanging out with my siblings or parents
  6. Running

I think that covers most of it.

I have an obsession for Taylor Swift. No, I am not 12, but I do love her. A lot of people tell me that I look like her. We both have blonde curly hair, but that’s all I really see. What do you think?

Who’s Who??

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just Kidding.

This blog is my way of keeping myself accountable for my health and fitness, a way to share my stories with others, and a way to remind myself and others to live with a zest for life, regardless of its uncertainties and trials.

I’ve put together a few pictures to help you get acquainted with me. Enjoy!

Baking Cookies:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My brother and sisters:

Travis and Me on Thanksgiving:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pizza would be part of my last meal:

This picture was taken on a recent trip to  Naples, Italy at Da Michele, the pizzeria made famous by Eat Pray Love. It was amazing and I think about it at least a few times a week. My friends and I ordered the house specialty: double mozzarella. Naples is known for their fresh buffalo mozzarella, and let me tell you, it is out-of-this-world-amazing.

Now you know a little bit about me. You can always leave questions or comments if you’d like to know more. Come back soon!  Ciao!

-Lou

Leave a Reply

