The First Post

8 Jan

Hello and happy weekend!

When I got home from work today I was itching to get in the kitchen to make something. I have been craving vegetables lately, and since this is not always the norm for my sweet tooth and me, I jumped on the occasion to make a veggie dip. Before I left work (I work at Trader Joe’s), I almost bought a container of Tzatziki, but then decided to give it a go for myself. I got home and got right to work!

I set out all of my ingredients. (You’ll notice everything is from Trader Joe’s. I am loyal, my friends.)

You will need:
1/2 cup lowfat kefir
3 Tbsp.  nonfat greek yogurt
1/2 medium cucumber, chopped
1 tsp. dried dill
1/4 tsp. salt
1 large or 2 small cloves garlic, made into paste (see below)

Get out your teeny tiny whisk and whisk together the kefir and greek yogurt like so.

Whisk Whisk!

It should be about this consistency

Next, make your garlic paste by mincing the garlic clove and then sprinkling with 1/4 tsp. salt.

Holding the knife in your cutting hand, place your other hand on top of the knife blade and smoosh the salt together with the garlic by using a pressing and pulling motion.

Continue this motion until the garlic forms a paste. The salt pulls the moisture out of the garlic. A paste is nice when you aren’t cooking the garlic because it prevents you from biting into a big chunk of garlic and evenly distributes the flavor throughout the dip.

Add your garlic paste, chopped cucumber, and dried dill to the yogurt mixture and stir to combine.

That’s it! The dip is done!

I ate mine with those veggies I have been craving all day! Sliced cucumbers, baby carrots, and red and yellow cherry tomatoes. Crunchy, creamy, and oh so dreamy. Mmm.

I actually think I turned mine into Raita, an Indian yogurt dip, because I ended up adding a pinch of paprika and tiny, tiny smidgen of cumin at the very end. It was very good with the veggies, but I also scooped it up with a few organic yellow corn chips. The salty crunch was so good with the cool, creamy tzatziki! Enjoy!!

Have a great weekend. 🙂

-Lou

2 Responses to “The First Post”

  1. Tracie January 9, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    Amazing!

  2. aison morten April 10, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    They are soooo darn cute, just like you, Lou!!! :^D

Leave a Reply

