Spinach Protein Pancakes

17 Mar

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I started the day with a local 5k that Travis’s running store sponsored. It was a small race, but everybody had a really good time despite the rain and wind!

We got these awesome race t-shirts. I am wearing mine right now and I will probably wear it all day since I don’t have any other green clothing.

Congrats to my sweetheart! He got his store’s name across the entire back of the shirt!!!

Here we are post-race. I was the top finisher for the women and Travis was second overall, but first in his age category!!

I was soaked and freezing by the time I got home, so I warmed up with a steaming hot cup of coffee from the new mug that my dad got me!

It’s from Phillipe the Original in LA. They make the best french dip sandwiches around and they’ve been there for over 100 years! My sister’s and I went there not too long ago. Check it out over here.

A girl can never have too many coffee mugs. Thanks Dad! :-)

It’s St. Patrick’s Day so of course I had to have something GREEN for breakfast! And I was not about to drink a cold smoothie on a rainy morning like this.

I hopped on over to my friend, Sara’s, blog to check out her recipe for spinach pancakes. Using her recipe as a guide…I set out to make a super green, very healthy, and protein-packed recipe to fuel me through this St. Patty’s Day.

Spinach Protein Pancakes

  • 1/4 cup gluten-free oats
  • 2 Tbsp. all-purpose gluten-free flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/4 cup vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4-1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • cinnamon to taste

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients into your VitaMix or blender and blend on a lower speed for 30 seconds-1 min. until spinach is finely chopped.
  2. Pour onto a lightly oiled nonstick skillet, 3 Tbsp. at a time.
  3. Flip when bubbles form, about 3 minutes per side.
  4. Keep warm in the oven while you cook the remainder of the batter.
  5. Top with Earth Balance or butter and maple syrup.
  6. Feel Irish.
Nutritional Info (for full recipe): Calories: 268; Carbs: 34g; Fat: 3g; Protein: 30g

 I used LOTS of spinach so that they would be very green!!! They didn’t taste anything like spinach though, not to worry.

When it gets all bubbly, give it a flip!

If you like thin pancakes (I do because then I feel like I’m eating a tall tall stack of ‘em) then add the entire 1/2 cup almond milk. If you want them thicker, just use 1/4 cup.

Green Goodness!

Perhaps there is some green beer in my future, as well. ;-)

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you,

Lou

5 Responses to “Spinach Protein Pancakes”

  1. Www.seminaire-recherche-Anrs.com April 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    I relish, cause I found just what I used to be having a look for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  2. Hubert May 5, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the longer term and it’s time
    to be happy. I have learn this put up and if I could I desire to counsel you some attention-grabbing things or tips.

    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I wish to learn more things approximately it!

  3. thekatiepotatie July 29, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    Not the prettiest of pancakes but I am simply in LOVE with them. Great post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green Pancakes | Banksyface - August 5, 2012

    [...] did however make SPINACH OATMEAL pancakes before I fell asleep! These could be awesome or horrible.. they were delicious, especially with [...]

  2. Protein Pancakes | Zestful Lou - August 5, 2013

    […] made many versions of protein pancakes, including these St. Patrick’s Day inspired pancakes, but today’s recipe is the simplest, leanest […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

