Archive | 9:02 am

Vegan Zucchini Walnut Bread

18 Jun

It’s been a crazily hectic week between preparing for the end of one job, and getting ready for the start of my career. I haven’t slept much, I’ve hardly exercised at all because of a suspected heel spur, and dinner has consisted of whatever is left in the pantry or the always dependable bowl of Kix; they’re Mother-approved, you know.

Somehow, in the midst of all this, I found time to bake a carb-tastic loaf of zucchini bread. The zucchini in my fridge was looking a little sad and so was I. There’s nothing like carbs to cheer a girl up.

Vegan Zucchini Walnut Bread

-adapted from Oh She Glows and FatFree Vegan Kitchen

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used Splenda)
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, mixed and set aside for 5 minutes)
  • 1 & 1/4 cup shredded zucchini (leave skin on), packed
  • 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
  • 1 & 1/2 cups non-dairy milk (I used vanilla almond milk)
  • Cinnamon Streusel topping: 2 tsp cold Earth Balance, 1 tbsp coarse sugar (like turbinado), 1 tbsp flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 375F. Spray a regular loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and sugar. Stir in walnuts and raisins.
  3. In a larger bowl, stir together zucchini, flax egg, almond milk, apple cider vinegar, and maple syrup. Fold in dry ingredients, being careful not to over-mix or the bread will become tough.
  4. Prepare streusel by mixing with a fork until it becomes crumbly.
  5. Pour batter into pan, sprinkle with streusel, and bake for 40 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.
  I increased the amount of almond milk by 1/4 cup because my batter was very dry. I’d suggest starting with 1 1/4 cups and adding more if need be.

Goooooey!

I had two slices for breakfast today, slathered with Earth Balance.
Along with two cups of french-pressed coffee in my favorite mug that I bought when Trav and I went to the San Diego Safari Park!
The bread is so good! It’s really dense, and I cooked mine a few minutes shy of 40 minutes, so it’s also gooey…but in good way!
I love the walnuts in it, but I think I’d leave out the raisins next time simply because I prefer sweet breads without raisins. The streusel adds a lovely sweetness and crunch and I like that there’s not a ton of it.
I froze a few fat slices to enjoy later on and to prevent myself from eating it all this weekend. ;-)
Check out what my roommate and his girlfriend got me as a congratulatory gift for my new job:
It’s a new knife set from Ikea! The knives work really well. I used the serrated knife to slice my zucchini bread and it didn’t smoosh it down at all!  Thanks Brian and Diana!
I have a lot more work to do before summer school begins on Monday. Travis and I are going to a wedding tonight, so I’d better get a jump on things.
We will look something like this tonight…
actually, we will look exactly like this because we are both wearing the same thing we wore to the last wedding we went to a couple of weeks ago.
Don’t we look cute!?
-Lou
p.s. Does anyone know why my font changes half way through my blog posts? And why can’t I double space between paragraphs? I need some blog formatting help.

 

 

 

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

