Archive | 6:19 pm

Slow Sunday

10 Apr

Slow. It’s how I like my Sundays. I think that’s what Sundays are for: waking up when you please, enjoying a nice breakfast, spending time with loved ones…maybe a light chore or two here or there.

Today I woke up at 8:30, which may as well be noon because I rarely sleep past 7:30 even when I try. I strolled out the door for a sunny Sunday morning run. I thought about doing only 3 miles, but I felt good and the effort felt, well, effortless, so I hung on for 5 miles instead.

Lately, one of my favorite post-run drinks is a lemon-lime infused water that tastes like refreshing lemonade without all the sugar. Mouth-puckering good.

image

I squeezed half a lemon and one small lime into my favorite cup and then stirred in one packet of stevia. Add lots of ice and water, and you’ve got yourself sunshine in a glass.

image

That tall glass of goodness was soooooo refreshing after this morning’s warm run!

Then I got caught up in a few chores…laundry, dishes…you know. I forgot that I made vegan overnight oats the night before and they were waiting for me in the fridge! Good thing, because I was HUNGRY.

image

Carob Chia Vegan Overnight Oats with Carob Banana Soft Serve

-adapted from Oh She Glows

  • 1/3 cup regular oats
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 Tbsp. carob powder
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds  (thickens the mixture overnight)

Directions:

1. The night before, whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl. Cover and let the concoction work its magic overnight.

Carob Banana Soft Serve

  • 1 medium frozen banana
  • 1 Tbsp. carob powder
  • 1-2 glugs almond milk

Directions:

1. In the morning, when you are read to eat your oats, blend the banana in a food processor for a minute until it starts to get creamy. Add in the carob powder and almond milk. Process another 30 seconds until “whipped.”

2. Pour directly on top of the oats or layer it in. I like it dumped on top and then I swirl it all around.

image

I topped mine with 1 Tbsp. raw buckwheat groats, 1 Tbsp. pecan praline granola, and because the words “too much” and “chocolate” cannot coexist, I threw in a few chocolate chips. ;-)

image

An easy Sunday breakfast for a fabulously slow Sunday. Just the way I like it.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have nothing to do. :)

-Lou

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

