Raw & Replenishing Beet and Carrot Slaw

2 Apr

I saw this recipe a couple of days ago over at Oh She Glows, and I knew right away that I had to make it.

The timing couldn’t have been more perfect since my last CSA delivery included these babies:

Those would be fresh beets. Do you use fresh beets a lot? I have cooked with them once in my lifetime, and my beet experiences before then were limited to the times I visited the Sizzler salad bar when I was a wee one.

So you can imagine my dismay/excitement/confusion when I opened up my CSA box to find beets.

My CSA box is not unlike a Christmas Gift. :-D

After sitting in the fridge for two days, and after my brain hurt from trying to decide what I wanted to do with them(Chocolate beet cake? Roasted beets and green beans?), Angela posted a recipe that she had adapted from another blog. I heard the faint sound of a choir singing “Hallelujah” somewhere in the distance.

Raw and Replenishing Beet and Carrot Slaw

-adapted from Oh She Glows and Chocolate and Zucchini

Ingredients:

3 large beetroots

3 large carrots

1 apple

1 garlic clove, finely minced

2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

2 tsp. Dijon mustard

2 tsp. lemon juice

2 Tbps. chopped fresh parsley

salt and freshly cracked pepper to taste

dashes and pinches of paprika, dried basil, cayenne pepper, and lemon pepper

1 Tbsp. sesame seeds

2 Tbsp. sliced almonds

Directions:

1. In a large salad bowl, whisk the olive oil, vinegar, mustard, garlic, lemon juice, spices and herbs.

2.  Trim and peel beets. I found the easiest and cleanest way to do this was to hold the beet under cool running water and peel with a sharp vegetable peeler. Peel carrots. Using the grating attachment on a food processor, grate the beets and carrots. Remove to salad bowl with dressing.

3. Grate the apple, leaving the skin on, if desired. Add to beets and carrots.

4. Toss the beets, carrots, and apple with the dressing until well mixed. Add in the sesame seeds and sliced almonds. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to let the flavors meld and develop.

After researching a lot of beet recipes, I was certain that I would come away from this endeavor with stained hands, but I think the trick to avoiding this was peeling the beets under running water.

This ceramic peeler rocks!

Peeled beets and carrots ready to go!

Once you’ve peeled your beets and carrots, place the shredding blade on your food processor. Alternately, you could do this the old-fashioned way with a hand grater and a little elbow grease, but I live by the motto “work smarter, not harder.”

Psychedellic

After grating the beets and carrots, remove them to the bowl where you have prepared the dressing.

Try not to spill them all over the counter in the process…

After adding the shredded apple

Toss in the sesame seeds and sliced almonds. You can toast them almonds if you prefer, but I added them more for texture than flavor. Oh, and I was lazy.

This recipe is incredibly forgiving and you could add whatever you feel would lend nicely to the flavor of the beets and carrots. I think next time, I would like to add some grated shallot, as per the suggestion on Chocolate and Zucchini’s blog.

I enjoyed mine as a wrap on some lavosh from a local middle-eastern bakery. It was 99 cents for nearly 9 feet of lavosh!!! Cha-ching!

This stuff is so. darn. good.

Travis and I also used the lavosh last night for steak wraps. (Okay, you caught me…I gave up the veganism).

I spread some horseradish mustard on the lavosh, then topped it with two crisp leaves of romaine.

This was the perfect post-run meal. It was light, refreshing, and full of flavor and texture. I have a ton leftover, so I will be force feeding the slaw to Travis for the remainder of the weekend.

No, I joke. I think he will really enjoy it.

Happy Saturday!

-Lou

3 Responses to “Raw & Replenishing Beet and Carrot Slaw”

  1. Sara April 3, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    I wish I liked beets; they are so beautiful! I’m glad you are eating meat again…it’s destiny.

  2. Melissa Braucht April 4, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I have been reading your blogs and never had the time to comment. I love them! Your sweet and healthy spirit just exudes from the page. Keep posting recipes I love reading them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

