Vegan Banana Walnut Cookies

10 Jan

A few days ago I ran 10.5 miles of very hilly trails with one of my friends and I am still recovering. Travis and I went out for a run yesterday morning and I told him to take off on his own because there was no way I would be able to keep a respectable pace with the shape that my legs were in. I still managed to get in about 4 miles, but I had to walk here and there.

I was feeling like a new person when I got up this morning, so I decided to do the 8.5 mile loop around Travis’s place, but when I got out on the road I still felt heavy and exhausted and my body screamed at me to turn back after half a mile…so I listened. Regis and Kelly were calling my name anyway. ;-) And so was a hot cup of coffee.

Lately I’ve been fueling my morning runs with cookies. Yep, cookies. But these cookies are healthy enough to eat for breakfast, yet still satisfying enough to enjoy as a dessert with a cup of tea (or in my case, more coffee).

Vegan Banana Walnut Cookies

–adapted from Oh She Glows and Fat Free Vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1 Flax ‘egg’ (2 tsp. ground flaxseed + 2 tablespoons water OR 1 egg)
  • 1 cup regular oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 banana, mashed, leave chunky
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

The dry ingredients, wet ingredients, and mix-ins

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together the dry ingredients and combine the wet ingredients. Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture, stirring until almost combined, and then stir in the mix-ins until mixed throughout.

Shape onto prepared cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes until set.

Doesn’t that look good enough to eat? That’s the best part about vegan baked goods…no raw egg. Go ahead, give it a nibble.

The dough is wet, so it is best to shape these into cookies directly onto the baking sheet. I did it by taking a couple tablespoons of dough, plopping it onto a parchment-lined baking sheet, and forming it into a cookie shape. They don’t spread, so put them as close together as you’d like. Like so:

The cookies before baking.

Bye Bye! See you soon!

What a perfect fit!

Well, almost perfect. I can't be held responsible for what happened to that last cookie.

These cookies are like a cross between banana bread and oatmeal cookies. They are very soft, but the walnuts and oats give them excellent texture and crunch. If you don’t want nuts, I’d suggest adding cacao nibs or chocolate chips to keep the crunch factor. They have no refined sugars and no added fats except the nuts, so go ahead, eat one for breakfast without feeling guilty. Or do like Travis did and take 3 to work and eat them all at once. ;-)

-Lou

One Response to “Vegan Banana Walnut Cookies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grilled Halibut and 50 Calorie Cookies « Zestful Lou - July 2, 2011

    [...] -adapted from my Vegan Banana Walnut Cookies [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

